SSCP – Systems Security Certified Practitioner

Become an SSCP – Systems Security Certified Practitioner

Earning a globally recognized IT security administration and operations certification like the SSCP is a great way to grow your career and better secure your organization’s critical assets.

SSCP certification demonstrates you have the advanced technical skills and knowledge to implement, monitor and administer IT infrastructure using security best practices, policies and procedures established by the cybersecurity experts at ISC2.

Prove your skills, advance your career, and gain the support of a community of cybersecurity leaders here to help you throughout your career.



About SSCP

The Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP) is the ideal certification for those with proven technical skills and practical, hands-on security knowledge in operational IT roles. It provides confirmation of a practitioner’s ability to implement, monitor and administer IT infrastructure in accordance with information security policies and procedures that ensure data confidentiality, integrity and availability.

The broad spectrum of topics included in the SSCP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK) ensure its relevancy across all disciplines in the field of information security. Successful candidates are competent in the following seven domains:

  • Security Operations and Administration
  • Access Controls
  • Risk Identification, Monitoring, and Analysis
  • Incident Response and Recovery
  • Cryptography
  • Network and Communications Security
  • Systems and Application Security

Experience Requirements

Candidates must have a minimum of one year cumulative work experience in one or more of the seven domains of the SSCP CBK. A one year prerequisite pathway will be granted for candidates who received a degree (bachelors or masters) in a cybersecurity program.

A candidate that doesn’t have the required experience to become an SSCP may become an Associate of ISC2 by successfully passing the SSCP examination. The Associate of ISC2 will then have two years to earn the one year required experience. You can learn more about SSCP experience requirements and how to account for part-time work and internships at


SSCP is in compliance with the stringent requirements of ANSI/ISO/IEC Standard 17024.

Job Task Analysis (JTA)

ISC2 has an obligation to its membership to maintain the relevancy of the SSCP. Conducted at regular intervals, the Job Task Analysis (JTA) is a methodical and critical process of determining the tasks that are performed by security professionals who are engaged in the profession defined by the SSCP. The results of the JTA are used to update the examination. This process ensures that candidates are tested on the topic areas relevant to the roles and responsibilities of today’s practicing information security professionals.

SSCP Examination Information

Length of exam 4 hours
Number of items 150
Item format Multiple choice
Passing grade 700 out of 1000 points
Language availability English, Chinese, German, Japanese, Korean and Spanish
Testing center Pearson VUE Testing Center

SSCP Examination Weights

Domains Average Weight
1. Security Operations and Administration 16%
2. Access Controls 15%
3. Risk Identification, Monitoring and Analysis 15%
4. Incident Response and Recovery 14%
5. Cryptography 9%
6. Network and Communications Security 16%
7. Systems and Application Security 15%
Total 100%

Reference :

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SSCP – Systems Security Certified Practitioner”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *